You are here
Home > Latest News > Second annual Bula 7s tournament at Porirua Park on Saturday

Second annual Bula 7s tournament at Porirua Park on Saturday

We have lift off.

The 2023 rugby season launches this Saturday at Porirua Park with the second annual Bula 7s tournament.

The tournament features 10 teams, including the two home town Wellington sides, the Fijian Flyers.

Four rounds of pool play starts at Jerry Collins Stadium at 8.00am and runs through to 3.00pm approximately, followed by the knockout rounds leading up to the Cup final scheduled for 6.30pm.

Last year this tournament was won by the New Zealand Ignite 7s squad who were grounded from international tournament play this time last year owing to Covid. They beat Whanganui in the Cup final. Travelling sevens troupe Matakesi beat Waikato in the third-fourth playoff.

This tournament is also being played a fortnight earlier than last year’s inaugural tournament owing to other tournaments coming up, such as the Mount Maunganui 7s next weekend.

For spectators, it’s $5 entry and free entry for 14 years and under, with food and entertainment on site throughout the day.

For more information and to follow the tournament live via a livestream follow the official tournament page:

Club Rugby will be there to complement this coverage as well.

The teams are:*

  • Flyers Black
  • Flyers Yellow
  • Hawke’s Bay Black
  • Hawke’s Bay Blue
  • Lomaiviti
  • Marlbourough Blue
  • Marlbourough Red
  • Waikato
  • Wairarapa
  • Whanganui

The draw is below:*

Alternatively go to Bula 7’s Draws 2023 (2) to view if this is too small for your browser.

*Teams and draw subject to change.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: