Hammerheads heading north to National Club 7s tournament

By Scott MacLean After a two-year hiatus, the Middlesex County William Wavell Wakefield Cup – the National Club Sevens Championship – returns this weekend. Counties-Manukau’s Karaka club are the hosts, with Wellington Ambassador Trophy winners Paremata-Plimmerton making the journey to try and bring the trophy back to the capital. Success in

Third annual Bula 7s at Porirua Park on Saturday

It’s back. Rugby returns to the Wellington region on Saturday with the third annual Bula Fiji 7s tournament being played from morning to evening. Some 12 men’s teams are scheduled to participate in the high-energy 7s carnival down on Jerry Collins Stadium to usher in the fresh season of rugby in 2024. Several

Local schools to the fore at Condor 7s

Scots College and St Pat's Silverstream at the recent Wellington Condor 7s tournament. Both teams have been competing at this weekend's National Condors at Mt Maunganui, with Scots finishing 5th and Silverstream 14th. By Scott MacLean A solid showing from the four Wellington schools at this years Condor 7s, which took

Hawke’s Bay and Manawatu win Central 7s tournament

Above: The two women's division finalists, winners Manawatu and runners-up Hawke's Bay. By Steven White Photos by Andy McArthur.  Hawke’s Bay (Men’s) and Manawatu (Women’s) won today’s revived Central 7s tournament at a cool, showery Massey University. Both winning teams were convincing winners, both piling on the points and unbeaten all day