You are here
Home > Club Rugby > Te Puna run hot on day of National Club Sevens

Te Puna run hot on day of National Club Sevens


For full day one results and day two draw visit:

Bay of Plenty and Baywide Premier 15s champions raiders Te Puna ran hot on day of the National Club Sevens tournament at a sunny Jerry Collins Stadium on Friday.

Te Puna emerged as the form team from the tough pool A section to win all their games and head into day two with confidence.

The Steamers side produced skill and pace to beat Wellington champions Hutt Old Boys Marist 19-10, Counties Manukau winners Ardmore Marist 17-10 and a lively MAC from Hawke’s Bay 22-12.

The National Club 7s field was reduced from 16 to 14 teams on tournament eve, with Horowhenua-Kapiti team Toa pulling out and Manawatu’s Feilding Yellows withdrawing on account of four of their players being pulled to play in an U20 trial match.

Following a short opening ceremony, involving the mayor and deputy mayor of Porirua City and other dignitaries, the tournament got underway at 9am under sunny skies but on a slightly slippery surface with Te Puna’s opener against the HOBM Eagles.

Dunedin’s Alhambra Union started in positive vein, beating a youthful Oriental-Rongotai side 27-12 after coming back from two tries down. Ories would improve as the day progressed, beating Christchurch’s Marist Albion 29-12 and then Manawatu’s Massey University 21-17 in a thriller that included a hat-trick to Ethan Webster-Nonu and a knock-on near the line by Massey at the end.

Marist Albion would start and finish well, laying on an injection of tries in beating Massey 24-7 and beating Alhambra Union 26-12 in the last game of day one.

Wellington’s HOBM were beaten 22-14 to make it one win from three and miss out on the Cup section on day one, while their 26-21 win over MAC was a thriller that saw playmaker Sheridan Rangihuna cross-kicking for Fereti Soloa to collect and score the winning try.

The very next game was also a tight affair, with Northland’s Kaitaia City scoring the winning try in the same corner as Soloa’s to beat Canterbury’s Saracens 29-26.

Day One Results (day two draw here):

Day 1 – Friday 7 February 2020, Porirua Park
A 19 Te Puna v Hutt Old Boys Marist 7
A 22 Ardmore Marist v MAC 7
B WBD Saracens v Feilding Yellow LBD
B 0 Kaitaia City v Havelock North 12
C 28 Northern United v Waihi Athletic 5
C WBD Timaru Old Boys v Toa LBD
D 12 Oriental-Rongotai v Alhambra Union 27
D 24 Marist Albion v Massey University 7
A 28 Te Puna v Ardmore Marist 17
A 26 Hutt Old Boys Marist v MAC 21
B 24 Saracens v Kaitaia City 29
B LBD Feilding Yellow v Havelock North WBD
C 27 Northern United v Timaru Old Boys 5
C WBD Waihi Athletic v Toa LBD
D 29 Oriental-Rongotai v Marist Albion 14
D 17 Alhambra Union v Massey University 7
A 22 Te Puna v MAC 12
A 14 Hutt Old Boys Marist v Ardmore Marist 22
B 0 Saracens v Havelock North 45
B LBD Feilding Yellow v Kaitaia City WBD
C WBD Northern United v Toa LBD
C 0 Waihi Athletic v Timaru Old Boys 17
D 21 Oriental-Rongotai v Massey University 17
D 14 Alhambra Union v Marist Albion 24

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: