You are here
Home > Club Rugby > Pre-season fixtures continue, HOBM and MSP squads at Spillane tournament

Pre-season fixtures continue, HOBM and MSP squads at Spillane tournament


Sanders Park in New Plymouth is set to host the annual Spillane Cup tournament this weekend.



Wellington Premier club rugby kicks off on Saturday 23 March with the first round of the 2019 Swindale Shield. View the draw HERE 

The penultimate weekend of pre-season fixtures for Wellington clubs sees the following matches:

  • Hutt Old Boys Marist and Marist St Pat’s at the Spillane tournament in New Plymouth (see below for more).
  • Johnsonville v Spotswood (Taranaki) at Helston Park Premiers/Premier Reserves, from 2.00pm
  • Tawa v Paremata-Plimmerton at Lyndhurst Park Premiers/Premier Reserves, from 1.00pm
  • Wainuiomata v Poneke at Mary Crowther Park. Premiers/Premier Reserves, from 1.00pm
  • Wellington v Oriental-Rongotai at Rongotai College. Premiers/Premier Reserves, from 1.00pm
  • Northern United v Kia Toa (Manawatu) at Palmerston North. Premiers/Premier Reserves/Women’s, Times TBC
  • Old Boys University v Massey University (Manawatu) at Evans Bay Park. Premiers/Premier Reserves from 1.00pm.
  • Avalon Wolves v Feilding Old Boys Boys Oroua (Manawatu) at Kimbolton
  • Petone and the Upper Hutt Rams  have internal club/squad camps.

In New Plymouth, it’s the 87th playing of the New Zealand Marist Federation’s Spillane Cup tournament, played at Sanders Park, New Plymouth.

UPDATED Friday morning: The one-day tournament on Saturday features several North Island men’s, women’s and Colts Marist clubs, from home region Taranaki, Wellington, Bay of Plenty, Hawke’s Bay and Wairarapa-Bush.

There are four  trophies being contested this year, the Spillane Cup (Division 1), Ham Cumming Cup (Division 2), Moran Cup (Colts), and Women’s.

HOBM and Marist St Pat’s are both playing for the Division 1 Spillane Cup, alongside the two Hawke’s Bay sides, Napier Old Boys Marist (NOBM) and Hastings Rugby & Sports.

NOBM are the two-time defending Spillane Cup champions, having beaten HOBM 32-12 in last year’s final in Auckland and taken down MSP in the 2017 decider.

NOBM and HOBM meet in one morning game and MSP and Hastings in the other. The winner plays the winner in the final at the end of the day and the loser plays the loser for third place.

The Eagles have a strong recent record at this tournament, winning a five-peat of titles between 2010-2014.

Auckland Marist are traditionally strong in the Colts section, but a new champion will be found this year with them not attending. Just three club teams – Wellington’s MSP and HOBM and home town Tukapa are contesting this year’s Colts.

Likewise, a three-club Women’s 7s section will see Wellington’s HOBM and Taranaki’s Tukapa and Clifton take part.


The HOBM Premier Spillane squad for this weekend:

Jacob Faifai, Enoka Fonoti, Rei Manaia, Saia Fonoti, Freddie Sunia, Ben Power, James O’Reilly, Mona Sio, David Fillipo, Jason Hoffman, Jordan Gillies, Tasi Fidow, Willie Rua, Lise Soloa, Sheridan Rangihuna, Glen Walters, Anthony Utanga, Blake McGregor, Nash Fiso, Fereti Soloa, Jerome Harimate, Jack Talapa, Jordan-Glen Bradbrook, Francis Tanuvasa, Albert Polu

The MSP Spillane squad for this weekend: 

Marist St Pat’s have announced a 75-strong squad will be travelling to New Plymouth. For more read their website HERE 

About the Spillane Cup:

The Spillane Cup was donated in 1926 by the late Mr. C. I. Spillane and from 1926-1929 and was contested annually between Wanganui and Wellington. In 1930 Hamilton issued a challenge to then holders Wellington and the Spillane tournament was started – Wellington beating Hamilton 29-21. Auckland entered in 1931, Napier in 1932 and Gisborne in 1933. In 1935, eight teams entered and the following year it was split into two sections, the first section of four playing for the Spillane Cup and the second section for the Brennan Cup. The Moran and Ham Cumming Cups were subsequently instituted. The Spillane tournament was originally played over the long Easter Weekend.

Spillane Cup – last 10 winners:

2009: Marist St Pat’s
2010: Hutt Old Boys Marist
2011: Hutt Old Boys Marist
2012: Hutt Old Boys Marist
2013: Hutt Old Boys Marist
2014: Hutt Old Boys Marist
2015: Auckland Marist
2016: Marist St Pat’s
2017: Napier Old Boys Marist
2018: Napier Old Boys Marist

Draws (as of Friday morning):

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: