You are here
Home > Club Rugby > Wellington Academy v Manawatu Academy Match Highlights

Wellington Academy v Manawatu Academy Match Highlights

The Wellington Academy beat their Manawatu counterparts 48-14 in the opening match of the Hurricanes U20s Academy series at the Campus of Innovation and Sport on Saturday.

Scoring highlights from the match below:

Wellington won the match by a margin of eight tries to two, after leading 19-0 at halftime.

In blazing sunshine, Wellington broke a scoreless deadlock and scored three tries before halftime, two from lineout drives in the corner to hooker Joyner Gaualofa and flanker Neru Scheck and one to right wing Francis Mettrick.

Wellington pulled clear after halftime with two further tries, both to captain and blindside flanker Dom Ropeti, to make it 31-0.

Manawatu put themselves on the board when replacement halfback Joggi Viljoen darted from a scrum and dived between the poles, but Wellington scored twice more in quick succession to pull well clear.

Viljoen scored his second try to close the score to 38-14, but Wellington scored twice more to seal victory, with tries to both wings Mettrick and Garry Tuilekutu.

This fixture was the first of three matches between the Wellington, Manawatu and Hawke’s Bay U20s sides as part of the new  Sam Doyle Memorial Trophy presented by the Hurricanes Alumni.

The two matches to come are in Palmerston North, with Wellington playing Hawke’s Bay there on 18 February and Manawatu playing Hawke’s Bay there on 25 February.

The teams as listed for this match are below:

Senio Sanele

Joyner Gaualofa

Bradley Crichton

Jono Bailey

Matolu Petaia

Dominic Ropeti

Neru Scheck

Toby Crosby

Sam Howling

10 TJ Clarke

11 Garry Tuilekutu

12 Tofuka Paongo

13 Jack O’Brien

14 Francis Mettrick

15 Chicago Doyle

16 Lennox Easthope

17 Salesa Seumanufagai

18 Ben Kershaw

19 Leon Tuiloma

20 Jeremiah Collins

21 Stanley Solomon

22 Elijah Maene-Lokeni

23 Jackson Wright

24 Carlos Hihi

25 Logan Love


  1. Malaki Hala-Ngatai
  2. Vernon Bason
  3. Feleti Sae Tau’ufo’ou
  4. John Samuelu
  5. Lawrence Leung – Wai
  6. Sam Lyon
  7. Wiremu Barrett
  8. Cody Borlase
  9. Vince Tahiwi
  10. Isaiah Armstrong – Ravula
  11. Hayden Cooper
  12. Darren Faleniko
  13. Josh Brunger
  14. Tadgh O’Connor
  15. Sam Coles
    Substitutes from:
  16. Aloysius Autagvaia
  17. Darius Mafile’o
  18. Tutangiora Mafi
  19. Moses Armstrong – Ravula
  20. Sam Kane
  21. Kees Pereka
  22. Nikora Brown
  23. Joe Simpson – Smith
  24. Matt Antis
  25. Jordi Viljoen
  26. Ben Harris
  27. Lafo Takiari – Ah Ching
  28. Max Hosking
  29. Jacob Rauhihi – Collis

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply