You are here
Home > Hurricanes > Hurricanes By the Numbers: Round One v Stormers

Hurricanes By the Numbers: Round One v Stormers

By Peter Marriott

Some facts and figures for the opening match of the 2020 Super Rugby season between the Hurricanes and the Stormers:

Ardie Savea scored the first try for the Hurricanes last year: against the Waratahs.

TJ Perenara scored the final try for the Hurricanes last year: in the Semifinal against the Crusaders. Beauden Barrett converted it.
Jordie Barrett will play his 50th match for the Hurricanes. It will actually be his 49th Super Rugby match but he did appear against the British & Irish Lions in 2017.

With 54 tries, TJ Perenara is just two short of Christian Cullen’s Hurricanes record of 56.

On five previous occasions the Hurricanes first match of a new season has been in South Africa:

1998 v Stormers, at Cape Town, (won 45-31)

2012 v Stormers, at Cape Town, (lost 26-39)

2014 v Sharks, at Durban, (lost 9-27)

2015 v Lions, at Johannesburg, (won 22-8) and

2018 v Bulls, at Pretoria, (lost 19-21)

In the 24 previous years of Super Rugby the Hurricanes have lost their opening match of the season a total of 16 times: they have won on eight occasions.

The Stormers have won more matches against the Hurricanes than they have against any other New Zealand side, and have lost fewer matches against the Hurricanes than against any other New Zealand side.

The Hurricanes have previously played the Stormers 20 times and the record is: won nine, lost 11, and drawn none. The Hurricanes have won the last three encounters.

The Hurricanes have not won in Cape Town since 2006 (won 23-19).

The Hurricanes beat the Stormers 34-28 when they met last season.

The Stormers have scored 49 tries in all matches against the Hurricanes.


Several Hurricanes debutants have been named in the starting line-up, including former Blues lock, Scott Scrafton and former Highlanders prop, Tyrel Lomax.

The team to face the Stormers in Cape Town is:


5 Jordie Barrett
14 Wes Goosen
13 Billy Proctor
12 Ngani Laumape
11 Ben Lam
10 Fletcher Smith
9 TJ Perenara [C]
8 Gareth Evans
7 Du’Plessis Kirifi
6 Reed Prinsep
5 Scott Scrafton
4 James Blackwell
3 Tyrel Lomax
2 Ricky Riccitelli
1 Fraser Armstrong

16 Asafo Auma
17 Pouri Rakete-Stones
18 Tevita Mafileo
19 Vaea Fifita
20 Devan Flanders
21 Jamie Booth
22 Jackson Garden-Bachop
23 Vince Aso

Super Rugby Round One: Hurricanes v Stormers. Live on Sky Sport or a social media feed near you at 2.05am Sunday.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply