You are here
Home > College Rugby > Expanded Hurricanes Youth Council Programme announced for 2019

Expanded Hurricanes Youth Council Programme announced for 2019

The Executive Board of the Hurricanes Youth Rugby Council Inc. has confirmed an extensive programme for the 2019 season, covering age-groups from the Under 14 to the Under 20 levels.

Of note, this year a Hawke’s Bay Saracens team joins the Under 18 competition for the Trustbank Central Shield, while a Development 1XV Competition for Boys is being introduced to enable schools not participating in the National Finals Qualification Series, to compete for a Hurricanes region title.

The Boys Under 16 Tournament for the Don Broughton Shield and Saracens Cup sees Wairarapa-Bush RFU promoted to Division A, while Poverty Bay RFU (the hosts of this year’s Tournament, to be played in Gisborne) move to Division B.

Following the Under Boys Development Camp in July, a Hurricanes Under 18 team will head over to Taupo to play the Blues Under 18 side, while the Hurricanes Heartland Under 20 Team will again be formed following the Heartland Development Series, to compete for the Central Region Shield against Hawkes Bay, Manawatu and Wellington.

In addition to a Sevens Tournament played in March, there are Under 15 Secondary School and Under 18 Provincial Union Tournaments scheduled for Girls, in September and October respectively. The Hurricanes region Secondary Schools Sevens Tournament (for both Boys and Girls) will again be hosted by Wairarapa-Bush RFU in October.

Recognising the importance of Match Officials to the game, the Council will also unveil a new Referees Uniform for all Council fixtures in 2019.

Further details for all programmes will be provided on this website HERE and supported by Club Rugby, as the season progresses.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: