You are here
Home > Club Rugby > Wellington Pride squad selected for Women’s NPC

Wellington Pride squad selected for Women’s NPC

The Wellington Pride celebrate centre Monica Tagoai’s try in their opening round 13-5 win over the Otago Spirit last year. The Pride, with two former Otago players in their squad this year, return to Jerry Collins Stadium next month to open their 2022 Women’s NPC campaign against Canterbury.

The 2022 Farah Palmer Cup comes early this year.

The Wellington Pride 33-women squad for the upcoming Women’s NPC competition kicking off on Saturday 16 July has been announced today.

The squad is once again captained by former Black Fern and Petone loose forward and former Black Fern Jackie Patea-Fereti, who has led the side on and off since 2012.

Jackie Patea-Fereti – vastly experienced Wellington pride captain.

There is a small group of new Pride players, joining the team from outside the region with FPC experience elsewhere.

Recent Black Ferns hooker Kura Ngata-Aerengamate joined her sister and returning Pride lock Te Amohaere in the Northern United side at the start of this year,  and is vastly experienced out of from Counties Manukau.

Sydnee Wilkins is out of Motueka High School and has played 24 times for Tasman between 2017-21, as a centre, wing, fullback and occasional halfback.

Loose forward Maddie Feauanti attended St Mary’s College in Wellington but went to Otago after leaving school and she made seven appearances for the Otago Spirit in 2020-21.

Centre wing Teilah Ferguson is one of two players in the squad from Poneke. She started at Hawke’s Bay in 2017, before playing for Otago between 2018-21.

Ashlyn Pescini is the second Poneke player selected; the flanker/No.8 played three games at lock for Taranaki in last year’s Women’s NPC competition.

The three current Black Ferns players/training members are Joanah Ngan-Woo, Ayesha Leti’l’iga and Angel Mulu.

Northern United duo Aimee Sutorius and Sanita Levave are two notable names missing, whilst Oneata Schwalger is a Waratahs representative and former Australian rugby union and league player.

Alexis Tauaneai returns to the squad as the only Wainuiomata player, alongside her peer and local college player Justine McGregor out of St Mary’s College.

McGregors’s MSP teammate and former St Mary’s student Cheyne Copeland appears to be the only specialist first-five in the squad.

Northern United halfback  Tamara Ruaporo joins the squad for the first time, the former Tawa College student is a former New Zealand Tae Kwon Do representative.

Their teammate Georgia Daals has also just been selected in the Black Ferns 7s squad, so her availability for the start or all of the campaign is pending.

Petone halfback Milly Mackey has been included, despite not playing at all this year thus far owing to concussion.

Other absences from last year include Amanda Rasch (retired), Fa’asua Makisi (Australia) and Dhys Faleafaga (family).

It is understood there are a further five players in the wider training squad as well, to cover for injuries or unavailabilities.

“We have put together a squad of experience and youth, and that’s exciting to see. We know we have the talent here so our focus is about making sure we get that connection as a team so the girls can go out there and express themselves on the big stage,” said head coach Zac Feaunati.

The Farah Palmer Cup NPC competition starts on Saturday 16 July at home against Canterbury at home at Jerry Collins Stadium, with the last round on Saturday 27 August ahead of the semi-final and final.

Pre-season fixtures to be announced.

2022 Wellington Pride squad 
Ana Afuie, Marist St Pats
Hosanna Aumua, Avalon
Tyler Bentley, Petone
Cheyne Copeland, Marist St Pats
Georgia Daals, Marist St Pats
Maddie Feaunati, Marist St Pats
Teilah Ferguson, Poneke
Nina Foaese, Northern United
Harmony Ioane, Northern United
Isadora Leio-Laupola, Northern United
Ayesha Leti-I’iga, Oriental Rongotai
Raylene Lolo, Oriental Rongotai
Milly Mackey, Petone
Justine McGregor, Marist St Pats
Paige Misky, Northern United
Angel Mulu, Northern United
Thamsyn Newton, Marist St Pats
Joanah Ngan-Woo, Oriental Rongotai
Te Amohaere Ngata-Aerengamate, Northern United
Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate, Northern United
Jackie Patea-Fereti, Petone
Ashlyn Pescini, Poneke
Alicia Print, Petone
Bernadette Robertson, Oriental Rongotai
Tamara Ruaporo, Northern United
Sinead Ryder, Oriental Rongotai
Ivana Samani, Oriental Rongotai
Oneata Schwalger, Northern United
Monica Tagoai Marist St Pats
Alexis Tauaneai, Wainuiomata
Jaydah Timu, Marist St Pats
Angelica Uila, Petone
Sydnee Wilkins, Marist St Pats

NPC Fixtures 

Round 1: SATURDAY 16 JULY 2022, 12:05
Porirua Park
Wellington Pride v Canterbury

Round 2: SUNDAY 24 JULY 2022, 14:05
Navigation Homes Stadium
Counties Manukau Heat v Wellington Pride

Round 3: SUNDAY 31 JULY 2022, 14:05
Porirua Park
Wellington Pride v Waikato


Round 5: SATURDAY 13 AUGUST 2022, 14:05
Central Energy Trust Arena
Manawatu Cyclones v Wellington Pride

Round 6: SATURDAY 20 AUGUST 2022, 11:35
Porirua Park
Wellington Pride v Bay of Plenty Volcanix

Round 7: SATURDAY 27 AUGUST 2022, 12:25
Eden Park
Auckland Storm v Wellington Pride



Similar Articles

Leave a Reply