You are here
Home > Latest News > Draws made for 2022 National Provincial Championship, Farah Palmer Cup and Heartland competitions

Draws made for 2022 National Provincial Championship, Farah Palmer Cup and Heartland competitions

New Zealand Rugby has announced the 2022 schedules for the Farah Palmer Cup and National Provincial Championship.

The Farah Palmer Cup (FPC) again kicks off earlier than the National Provincial Championship (NPC), as it did in 2021 to avoid clashing with the Rugby World Cup that will be held in New Zealand later this year.

The Wellington Pride open the competition at Porirua Park on Saturday 16 July (12.05pm kick-off, so not directly clashing with Jubilee Cup matches that day) against Canterbury. They play all three of their home matches at that venue and a fourth next stop up the road in Palmerston North.

Wellington Pride schedule:

Saturday 16 July 12.05pm v Canterbury, Jerry Collins Stadium

Sunday 24 July 2.05pm v Counties-Manukau (away)

Sunday 31 July 2.05pm v Waikato, Jerry Collins Stadium

Saturday 13 August 205pm, v Manawatu (away)

Saturday 20 August 11.35am v Bay of Plenty, Jerry Collins Stadium

Saturday 27 August TBC kick-off v Auckland (away)

The Farah Palmer Cup sees a seven-week round robin, with the top four Premiership teams and top four Championship teams playing in semi-finals on 2-4 September. The following weekend will see the respective finalists play off for the Premiership and Championship titles.

The Wellington Lions will attempt to wrestle back the National Provincial Championship title for the first time in 22 long, desolate years when they open their season on Sunday 7 August at 4.35pm against the Bay of Plenty Steamers at home at Wellington Stadium. They play just one of their scheduled five home games at Jerry Collins Stadium.

Wellington Lions schedule:

Sunday 7 August 4.35pm v Bay of Plenty, Wellington Stadium

Saturday 13 August 7.05pm v Canterbury (away)

Saturday 20 August 2.05pm v Northland, Jerry Collins Stadium

Sunday 28 August 2.05pm v Taranaki, Wellington Stadium

Saturday 3 September, 4.35pm v Southland (away)

Sunday 11 September 2.05pm v Otago, Wellington Stadium

Saturday 17 September, 7.05pm v Hawke’s Bay (RS lol, away)

Saturday 24 September, 4.35pm v Waikato, Wellington Stadium

Sunday 2 October, 2.05pm v Counties-Manukau (away)

The NPC sees teams seeded into two conferences based on the previous season’s standings following the round-robin matches and quarterfinals. Teams placed 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 will play in the Odds conference and teams placed 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14 will play in the Evens conference in 2022. The round-robin includes four crossover matches per team, where teams from the Odds conference will play teams from the Evens conference.

Odds teams this season are Waikato, Hawke’s Bay, Bay of Plenty, Wellington, Otago, Southland, and Counties Manukau. Evens teams this season include Tasman, Canterbury, Auckland, Taranaki, Manawatū, North Harbour and Northland.

The 12-team Heartland Championship features an eight-week round robin with the top four teams going through to the Meads Cup semi-finals and the next four teams going through to the Lochore Cup semi-finals. Both finals are scheduled for the weekend of 22-23 October. Defending Meads Cup Champions South Canterbury kick off the season against Thames Valley and Lochore Cup holders Whanganui play West Coast in Greymouth in Round One.


National Provincial Championship:

Farah Palmer Cup:

Heartland Championship:

We will also be running the Women’s NPC and Men’s NPC draws and results – and will upload these to our Club Rugby National website over the coming weeks.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply