You are here
Home > Club Rugby > Representative rugby ramps up this weekend

Representative rugby ramps up this weekend

The second week back from lockdown sees a surfeit of representative rugby matches to follow throughout Wellington and the lower North Island.

As per last week, we are in Alert Level 2, which means no spectators. Check guides for which individual matches will be livestreamed. As always, we will endeavour to cover much of this rugby on our channels.

We will also carry a separate preview on this website looking at the school finals on Saturday (five finals) and Sunday (Premiership final).

It is the second round of the Hurricanes Youth Council’s U19 and U18 competitions.

Starting with the Central Region Shield U19 competition, Wellington hosts the Junior Hawke’s Bay Magpies at Tawa’s Lyndhurst Park at 12.00pm. Manawatu play the Hurricanes Heartland U20s in the other match.

Wellington is coming off a won over the Hurricanes selection, whilst Hawke’s Bay lost to Manawatu at home last week.

ForOwen Wright is currently out injured after breaking his hand against the Hurricanes Heartland U20s, but the team gets back Tawa Premier openside Weston Sao after concussion, who is on the bench. Plus NZ Maori u18 selection Rory Woods after dislocating his finger at training last week. The U19S also still do not have the services of MSP pair, hooker Charlie Hankins and fullback Grady Walshe, who are still stuck up in Auckland after returning home for the lockdown. Other slight changes have been made to test combinations and get game time.

The second round of the Trustbank Cup HYC U18s competition sees one Wellington team at home and the other two away. The home match is the Wellington Centurions U18s, back at Lyndhurst Park in the 3.00pm match there to play the Wairarapa-Bush U18s. The Centurions opened their account last week at the same venue with a 24-7 win over Manawatu, while the Wairarapa-Bush side beat Hawke’s Bay.

In other U18 competition matches, the Wellington Samoans and Whanganui U18s team had promising wins last week over Horowhenua-Kapiti and Wellington Maori respectively. The Samoans play H-K at Levin at 12.30pm and the apprentice Butcher Boys host the Wellington Samoans at Spriggins Park at 12.30pm.

Manawatu host Hawke’s Bay in the other U18s competition match.

The Hurricanes Youth Council’s U16 tournament kicks off this weekend with a series of pre-tournament matches.

In one U16s match on Saturday, East Coast and Poverty Bay meet, while there are three matches played on Sunday. Wellington A hosts Manawatu at the Petone Rec at 12.00pm, Horowhenua-Kapiti play Wellington B at Waikanae Park at 12.30pm and Wairarapa-Bush and Hawke’s Bay meet in Eketahuna.

The U16 tournament proper was scheduled to be played in the first week of the school holidays (4-7 October) in Ruatoria. Unfortunately the ‘tournament week’ has been cancelled, but the remainder of the competition games are all still going ahead on a home and away basis.

In two other representative matches of note on Saturday, the Wellington Centurions are travelling to New Plymouth to play the Taranaki Trojans (Development) side. The Wellington Centurions are fresh off a slaying of Tasman B so will hope to continue that form into this game. Kick-off at Sanders Park is 1.00pm.

The Wellington Maori Men‘s team hosts Taranaki Maori at Porirua Park at 1.00pm in the other match at home on Saturday. This is the first of two games for this team, ahead of their fixture against Canterbury Maori at the same venue next weekend.

The Wellington Pride resume the Women’s NPC Farah Palmer Cup campaign with their last round match against the BoP Volcanix at Mount Maunganui at 12.05pm. If the Pride win they will progress to a semi-final situation against either Canterbury or Waikato, if they lose that is their season over for another year.

Horowhenua-Kapiti takes on North Otago in Levin at 2.30pm Saturday in the second round of the Heartland Championship.

Elsewhere, the Wellington Lions host Hawke’s Bay at Wellington Stadium on Sunday at 2.05pm in the National Provincial Championship.

Some teamlists below – added in if/when received:

Wellington Samoans U18s:

Wellington Maori

1. Joe Reid (Wellington)
2. Ethan Mate Robinson (Norths)
3. Whetu Henry (Ories)
4. Blade Rapira (Wainuiomata)
5. Taine Tata (Upper Hutt Rams)
6. Api McMillian Parata (Paremata-Plimmerton)
7. William Rua (Hutt Old Boys Marist)
8. Newess Fotuaili (Johnsonville)
9.Jimmy Lee Hongara (Poneke)
10. Kemara Hauiti Parapara (Tawa)
11.Adam Clark (OBU)
12. Regan Waiwai (Petone)
13. Justin Wilson (Paremata-Plimmerton)
14.Khya Wilson (Paremata-Plimmerton)
15.Luke Kapene (Norths)
16.Rhys Reiri (Poneke)
17. Dylan Williamson (Petone)
18. Bodene Davis (Johnsonville)
19. Hemi Fermanis (Tawa)
20. Declan Hay (Ories)
21. Josh Robertson-Weepu (Wainuiomata)
22. Andy Ellis (Johnsonville)
23. TBC

Wellington U19s

1.Bradley Crichton (Norths)

2. Joyner Gaualofa (Tawa)

3.Nonu Tuia (HOBM)

4.Jono Bailey (HOBM)

5.Jono Little (HOBM)

6.Dom Ropeti (OBU)

7.Sione Halalilo (Ories)

8.Peter Lakai (Petone)

9.George Sims (Tawa)

10.Luke Walmsley (Tawa)

11.Leyton Tapa (Petone)

12.Riley Higgins (Petone)

13.Sapati Tagoai (HOBM)

14.Knox Tuinasau (Johnsonville)

15.TJ Clarke (Petone)

16. Kigi Nu’u (Marist St Pat’s)

17.Jonty Bird (Ories)

18.Samson Koreferenesi

19. Rory Woods (Wellington)

20.Weston Sao (Tawa)

21. Logan Love (Marist St Pat’s)

22.Zack Paterson (Marist St Pat’s)

23. Charles Mataitai (Avalon)


Wellington Centurions U18s

1 William Anderson – Wellington College
2 Ben Press Hutt – International Boys (HIBS)
3 Ted Northcott – Paremata Plimmerton
4 Matolu Petaia – Rongotai College
5 Sione Valu – Tawa RFC
6 Oliver Toru-Tyrell – Bishop Viard College
7 Tom Brock – Hutt International Boys (HIBS)
8 John Samuelu (c) – Tawa RFC
9 Luke Champion – Old Boys University
10 Cameron Burgess – St Pats Town
11 Siose Lokeni – Bishop Viard College
12 Tofuka Paongo (vc) – Wellington College
13 Johnny Maiava – Wellington College
14 Garry Tuilekutu – Naenae College
15 Reweti Katene-Leat – Aotea College
16 Alex Joyce – Old Boys University
17 Aleki Leala – Wainuiomata High School
18 Barker Carroll – Old Boys University
19 Jared Fermanis – Tawa RFC
20 Eben Claasen – Johnsonville RFC
21 Tristan So’oialo – Tawa College
22 Floyd Rose – Hutt International Boys (HIBS)

Wellington Centurions

1.Ha’amea Ahio – Johnsonville

2.Penieli Poasa – Ories

3.P J Sheck – Tawa

4.Hugo Plummer – Tawa

5.Akira Ieremia – Tawa

6.Josh To’omaga – Marist St Pats

7.Hauwai McGahan (CC) – Poneke

8.Jordan Gillies – HOBM

9.Campbell Woodmass (CC) – Norths

10.Callum Harkin – OBU

11.Roderick Solo – Ories

12.Reon Paul – Norths

13.Losi Filipo – Norths

14.Joseph Faleafaga – Norths

15.Sam Reid – OBU

16.George Jacobs – Poneke

17.James Coburn – Wellington

18.Brett Manaia – HOBM

19.Luca Rees – Norths

20.Lise Soloa – Norths

21.Josh Southall – Petone

22.Kyle Preston – OBU

23.Pakai Turia – Poneke

24.Fereti Soloa – HOBM

Wellington Lions

1. Xavier Numia (Ories

2. Bruce Kauika-Petersen (Norths)

3. Alex Fidow (Ories)

4. James Blackwell (Petone)

5. Dominic Bird (Upper Hutt Rams)

6. Caleb Delany ( Old Boys University)

7. Du Plessis Kirifi (Norths)

8.Iona Apineru (Petone)

9. Connor Collins (HOBM)

10. Aidan Morgan (Marist St Pat’s)

11. Wes Goosen (Old Boys University)

12. Peter Umaga-Jensen (Wainuiomata)

13. Vince Aso (Petone)

14. Pepesana Patafilo (Tawa)

15. Ruben Love (Wainuiomata)

16.James O’Reilly (HOBM)

17. Vince Sakaria (MSP)

18. Pek Cowan (TBC)

19. Tyrone Thompson (MSP)

20. Sam Smith (Wainuiomata)

21. Richard Judd (Paremata-Plimmerton)

22. Brandyn Laursen (HOBM)

23. Tomasi Alosio (HOBM)

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: