You are here
Home > Club Rugby > UPDATED: Porirua Park 15s rugby and 34th annual Shannon 7s on Saturday

UPDATED: Porirua Park 15s rugby and 34th annual Shannon 7s on Saturday

Porirua Park and the Shannon Domain are the two venues for rugby around the Wellington region tomorrow, with two 15 games at Porirua Park and the annual Shannon 7s tournament being played.

The first match at Jerry Collins Stadium is round two of the Hurricanes region inter-academy series between the Wellington Academy and the Manawatu Academy. This series is in effect a warm-up/trial for the Hurricanes U20 squad that will be selected to compete in Taupo in April.

Manawatu come to Wellington having drawn with Hawke’s Bay 26-26 in the series opener at Massey last Saturday, while this is the first outing of 2021 for the Wellington players. Kick-off is 12.30pm.

The Manawatu team for the first match is:

The Wellington Academy team is:

This is followed by the Hurricanes Hunters (Development) side against the Regional XV. This match is ahead of the Hurricanes Hunters match against the Crusaders Knights in Christchurch next week. Kick-off is 2.15pm.


The 34th annual Shannon 7s tournament is being played all day at the Shannon Domain on Saturday.

The first game is scheduled to kick off at 9.30am, with a dozen teams entered in a men’s-only tournament owing to too few women’s teams entering this year.

There are three local union Horowhenua-Kapiti sides taking part, home team Shannon and Foxton and Waikanae.

Last year’s winners Matakesi return to defend their title, while strong challenges will be expected from Wellington champions Northern United and Johnsonville, who are fielding two teams.

The teams competing are:

  • College Old Boys (Manawatu)
  • Foxton (HK)
  • Johnsonville Pink (Wellington)
  • Johnsonville Blue (Wellington)
  • Kia Toa (Manawatu)
  • Martinborough (Wai-Bush)
  • Matekesi (Invitational team)
  • Northern United (Wellington)
  • Shannon (HK)
  • Waikanae (HK)
  • Wainuiomata (Wellington)
  • YMP RC (Poverty Bay)

For more information and for the draw* once it is confirmed visit Shannon’s Facebook page:

* Teams and draw subject to change

The Johnsonville squad for their two teams on Saturday has a Fijian flavour. These players being: Pita Ekevati, Isaac Tiko, Dennis Veisaku, Opeti Bakani, Jone Bakani, Navi Bakani, Sami Hope, Laiyakini Colati, Knox Tuinasau, Kolinio Koto, Jim Seruwalu, Scooby Dakunimata, Esi Komaisavai, Jtuivanua Bulimaibau, Sikeli Cawanibuka, Cavunailoa Vabakivou, Marzy Karim, Deni Caucau, Simione Navoka, Jordan Avalon.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: