You are here
Home > Club Rugby > McBain Shield – five of the best this century

McBain Shield – five of the best this century

The McBain Shield between Petone and Hutt Old Boys Marist has been contested every year since 1934. Saturday’s clash at the Petone Rec will be the 85th time it has been on the line.

There have been many memorable McBain Shield matches over the years, particularly in the modern era since 2003 when HOBM regained their Premier status for the final time. Summaries of five of these games that Club Rugby has covered are below.

Packed grandstands for the McBain Shield.

2004: Hutt Old Boys Marist wins 27-17

Hutt Old Boys Marist had finished last in 2003’s Swindale Shield and Petone were to go and win the 2004 Swindale Shield. The two sides met on in warm sunny conditions on ANZAC day in round four. Lock Polonga Pedro scored two key tries, including the match winner at the end, after Petone had come back from a big deficit following halfback Nick Risdon charging down a clearing kick to give the Eagles a 17-0 lead at halftime. Petone replied after the break with tries to wing Willie Moala and Cam Incledon But HOBM, led by stalwart forwards Doug Power and Martin Wallis, defended brilliantly and there was no way through again for the Villagers. Leading the 2004 Swindale Shield for seven of the first eight rounds, HOBM eventually finished fourth equal behind Petone.

2013: Hutt Old Boys Marist wins 50-22

HOBM won the McBain Shield for the fourth consecutive year with a record win at home at the Hutt Rec, wing James Kusel scoring four tries and Brandyn Laursen scoring 20 points. Commentator Adam Julian recalls the match: “I commentated the 2013 McBain Shield with Petone stalwart Murray Blandford. Hutt incredibly led 36-3 after 20 minutes. The previous week Hutt had beaten Rimutaka 127-0 and the new electronic scoreboard at the Hutt Rec had malfunctioned when Hutt passed hundred points. I turned to Murray and told him this could happen again and then quipped, ‘the scoreboard might explode today. Murray dropped his hands into his head and his Hutt mates, visible through the commentary box window, were waving white handkerchiefs and heckling in his direction. It was funny at the time, but not to Murray, I haven’t worked with him since.”

2014: Petone wins 20-19

An inspired Petone defied pre-match predictions to re-claim the McBain Shield at home. With the confidence of an outstanding first half defensive effort, the Mateaki Kafatolu-led Petone side turned around a 3-14 deficit. In a tight finish, HOBM first five-eighth/fullback Glen Walters had the chance to re-take the lead but pulled his penalty attempt wide. Petone pivot Tamati Samuels, then had his 22-dropout charged down, but he regained the ball and hoofed it down deep into HOBM’s corner and the home side held on to the final whistle to win this match for the first time since 2010. After an intense forwards dominated battle throughout most of the first half, the Eagles had led 9-3 on penalties when their talisman prop Simon Malaeulu scored to extend the margin. Petone came hit back and right wing Aleks Noble-Campbell scored in the corner and Green converted to put Petone ahead 20-14. HOBM scored another try and it was back to a one-point game and a tense finish.

2016: Petone wins 27-23

Petone scored 27 points in the second half to come from behind and win 27-23. In the dying moments, Petone turned down a shot at goal to tie the game at 23-23 after reserve HOBM prop Brett Manaia was sin-binned for not rolling away at the ruck. That decision paid off for Petone as the Villagers stole the game on the hooter, scoring on the left wing through Willie Fine for his hat-trick and the win as the home fans went into raptures. After the first 40 minutes, a Petone win didn’t look at all likely as they were held scoreless by the Eagles but a yellow card early in the second half to Alexis Time, who was celebrating his 150th appearance in the green, white and red, resulted in two Petone tries to bring the hosts within one point of Hutt and spark life into Petone.

Petone won the McBain Shield in 2016.

2018: Hutt Old Boys Marist wins 30-27

The Eagles were down 23-27 and in need of a last-gasp rugby miracle. It came when fullback Anthony Utanga outflanked the Petone defence right on the hooter. HOBM appeared to be in control when leading 20-10 early in the second-half. However the Eagles forwards noticeably fatigued and Petone piled on 17 unanswered points to surge ahead 27-20. There were two key moments which changed the momentum again. Petone was reduced to 14 players for the second time when lock Glen Angus was yellow carded following an all-in melee. Hutt reduced the deficit to four when Glen Walters kicked a handy penalty. Earlier Hutt flanker Jordan Gillies stopped a certain try when he toppled Losi Filipo around the ankles when the Petone second-five was in the clear and headed for the try line. Filipo was in menacing form for Petone, playing a hand in three of the four tries scored by the hosts.

HOBM celebrating during their win in 2018.

McBain Shield – a history:

Played: 84

Petone Won: 60

Hutt Won: 19

Drawn: 5

Year Winner Score
1934 Hutt 6-5
1935 Petone 10-6
1936 Petone 3-0
1937 Petone 23-0
1938 Petone 12-7
1939 Petone 17-9
1940 Petone 16-12
1941 Drawn 8-8
1942 Petone 6-0
1943 Petone 9-6
1944 Drawn 11-11
1945 Petone 16-13
1946 Hutt 6-0
1947 Petone 33-6
1948 Drawn 3-3
1949 Petone 29-6
1950 Petone 6-3
1951 Petone 9-5
1952 Hutt 19-6
1953 Petone 14-9
1954 Petone 6-0
1955 Petone 29-6
1956 Petone 6-0
1957 Petone 6-3
1958 Petone 14-11
1959 Petone 21-11
1960 Petone 30-12
1961 Petone 46-11
1962 Petone 11-8
1963 Petone 11-5
1964 Petone 14-6
1965 Petone 11-3
1966 Petone 29-6
1967 Petone 34-8
1968 Petone 26-6
1969 Petone 28-11
1970 Petone 23-16
1971 Petone 19-6
1972 Petone 41-10
1973 Petone 23-7
1974 Drawn 0-0
1975 Petone 39-6
1976 Petone 38-8
1977 Petone ?
1978 Petone 23-6
1979 Petone 10-9
1980 Petone 10-6
1981 Petone 22-0
1982 Petone 37-6
1983 Petone 15-14
1984 Petone 18-11
1985 Hutt 4-3
1986 Petone 38-3
1987 Drawn 18-18
1988 Hutt 10-7
1989 Hutt 13-4
1990 Petone 30-9
1991 Hutt ?
1992 Petone 51-5
1993 Petone 40-15
1994 Petone 18-16
1995 Petone 43-13
1996 Hutt 34-25
1997 Hutt 18-15
1998 Petone 22-16
1999 Petone 32-16
2000 Hutt 21-18
2001 Hutt 40-17
2002 Hutt 19-8
2003 Hutt 22-20
2004 Hutt 27-17
2005 Hutt 25-23
2006 Petone 26-16
2007 Petone 26-16
2008 Petone 16-13
2009 Petone 15-0
2010 Petone 41-22
2011 Hutt 27-20
2012 Hutt 43-22
2013 Hutt 50-22
2014 Petone 20-19
2015 Hutt 32-25
2016 Petone 27-23
2017 Petone 49-31
2018 Hutt 30-27
2019 Hutt 46-26


Last year’s McBain Shield: 


Similar Articles

Leave a Reply