You are here
Home > Club Rugby > From the vault: Seventh round matches in photos

From the vault: Seventh round matches in photos

Ories players under their own posts against Marist St Pat’s in 2009. Ories came back from this early setback to win 30-24. 


The seventh round of the 2020 Swindale Shield was originally scheduled this Saturday, on the first weekend of May.

But the rugby guns remain silent as Covid-19 ravages the sporting nation.

Swindale Shield games this week would have been:

Below are some images from our photo galleries vault of seventh round club rugby matches in recent seasons.


2005: Upper Hutt’s Chris Puketapu surging ahead against Northern United with Cory Jane on his outside. Upper Hutt won this top-of-the-table match 10-5 and went on to win the Swindale Shield with a round to spare. The two teams met again in the Jubilee Cup, with Norths winning 10-8 in the round-robin and also winning 26-21 in their semi-final. PHOTO: The Dominion Post.


2006: When Old Boys University beat Avalon 32-31 at the Basin Reserve, with tries to Ian Kennedy, Tomasi Palu and Adam Fleming (2) against tries to Andrew Turner, Finau Hopoi, Mano Flutey and Peter Sciascia. OBU finished third and Avalon fourth in the 2006 Swindale Shield.


2007: Wests Roosters hooker Luke Mahoney breaking free to score a clutch try in his team’s 20-17 win over Avalon at Fraser Park. Wests won three tries to two. Wests would sneak into the Jubilee Cup round, while Avalon slipped to 11th of 12 teams.


Wellington Club Rugby Event Photo Norths v Tawa

2010: Spectators ring Porirua Park for the local derby match between home side Northern United and Tawa. Norths won 58-10, with Buxton Popoalii, James So’oialo and TJ Perenara each scoring two tries.


Wellington Club Rugby Event Photo Northern United (Norths) v Wests Roosters

2013: Two tries for Nene Va’alepu – to go with a hat-trick each to his brother and right wing AJ and fullback Johnny Teleaga – for Norths in their free-wheeling 97-48 win over the Wests Roosters. Across town on the same day, HOBM beat Rimutaka 127-0.


2014: MSP centre Cardiff Vaega slices through to score a bombastic try on neutral Kilbirnie Park against Petone in their 39-29 Bill Elvey Memorial Trophy win. MSP went on to win the 2014 Swindale Shield title.


2015: Try time for lock Jamie Norman against Wainuiomata in their 37-21 win over Wainuiomata for the Peter Jones/Dave Ritchie Cup at home at Maidstone Park.


2017: Paulo Aukuso (ball in hand) and Adam Deck (background) both scored key second half tries for Ories in their Anzac Day 30-30 draw with Poneke for the Jimmy Grbich Memorial Shield match.



2018: Anzac Day 2018. The HOBM and Poneke teams pay their respects ahead of their match for the Roy Johns Memorial Shield. HOBM won 29-22.



2019: Two tries to Tawa’s Pepesana Patafilo against MSP wasn’t enough for victory at Lyndhurst Park.

Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: